Where we are

Sussex Green Woodworking
Lewes Road
Laughton
Lewes
East Sussex
BN8 6BN

 

Get in touch

Use the form below for any enquiries not covered in the Frequently Asked Questions

Sussex Green Woodworking Gift Voucher

Frequently asked questions

Q. Is the course suitable for a complete beginner?

Yes We start at the beginning . There is plenty to challenge the more seasoned (ahem) woodworker however. The courses are often quite mixed ability.

Q. Where are the woods?

The woods are located about 7 miles east of Lewes near the village of Laughton, in East Sussex. The directions to get there will be sent out via email when a course is booked.

Q . Can I get there by public transport?

Not really, no, the nearest train is Lewes or Berwick and the nearest bus is to Ringmer. It is possible to be picked up from these locations if you make prior arrangements with us.

Q. Can I camp in the woods?

Yes! Tents or camper vans are welcome. There is plenty of space but only basic facilities . There is a compost loo and water only in containers. There is plenty of firewood and a pub within walking distance. At present there is no charge for camping .

Q. Does everyone finish their chair or stool?

Yes! Well, almost. Some people choose to make something a bit more complicated and need to return for a short time to finish. This is quite unusual and not something you need to worry about.

Q. Can I make a chair of my own design?

Yes. You will be guided to make a chair within your ability and steered away from a design you won’t be able to finish in the time, but there is scope for your own creativity .

Q. Can I get a refund if I can’t make the date?

No, although you can change to a different date if you inform us at least four weeks before the course date. If we make a mistake with the booking, you can get a full refund.

Q. Can I bring my own wood/ tools?

Yes. Everything is provided, but if you wish to use your own wood or tools, so long as they’re suitable that’s fine.

Q. I’m physically impaired, Can I still do it?

Within reason. There is a lot of physical work and most people find it hard work. A lot of the work can be done sitting down and we take frequent breaks. Please get in touch if you have specific needs.

Q. I have special dietary requirements, can you cater for me?

We provide lunches that are vegetarian and wholesome. We suggest bringing your own lunch/ snacks if you have special requirements.

Upcoming Courses


2024
Thu 25 Apr
Stool Making
£215
Fully booked
Thu 2 May
Pole Lathe
£315
Sat 11 May
Stool Making
£215
Fully booked
Thu 16 May
Stool Making
£215
Mon 20 May
Chair Making
£495
Fully booked
Wed 5 Jun
Table Making
£315
Fully booked
Mon 10 Jun
Chair Making
£495
Thu 20 Jun
Stool Making
£215
Thu 27 Jun
Stool Making
£215
Mon 1 Jul
Chair Making
£495
Fully booked
Wed 10 Jul
Stool Making
£215
Fri 12 Jul
Spoon Carving
£115
Sat 13 Jul
Bowls and Spoons
£215
Fully booked
Wed 17 Jul
Chair Making
£495
Fully booked
Wed 4 Sep
Table Making
£315
Fully booked
Thu 12 Sep
Stool Making
£215
Mon 16 Sep
Chair Making
£495
Fully booked
Thu 26 Sep
Stool Making
£215
Sat 28 Sep
Stool Making
£215
Thu 3 Oct
Table Making
£315
Mon 7 Oct
Chair Making
£495
Sat 19 Oct
Stool Making
£215
Thu 24 Oct
Stool Making
£215
Your shopping bag0
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping